About

img_8324

Hi! My name is Alisha, and I am super excited (and a little nervous) to be sharing my blog with you! Since this blog focuses on my home and myself, let me introduce you to us.

My first home as an “adult” was a small apartment where my husband and I started our married lives together in 2012. In that apartment, I focused on creating a homey environment with what I had or what was cheap – let’s just say that I don’t own most of those things anymore, lol.

After 9 months of apartment living, we started looking for a house – the search was not long. While looking at houses online and in person, I quickly realized that with our price range, we were looking at a very low quality home (most of which weren’t even as nice as the apartment!). However, when I stumbled on a cute little home in an actual neighborhood, and saw that it had been reduced a few times, I pounced and we bought our first house!

front1

My current home is a 1994, 1100 square foot Cape Cod with 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 bathrooms. Since moving in 2013, I have made several updates to my home and have slowly started to switch out the “things I had when I got married” for things that are more my style (…though I’m still figuring out what that is exactly).

Some home updates that I have completed in the past 4 years include: replacing all of the light fixtures/switches, doorknobs/hinges, and cabinet knobs/pulls; shortening all of the blinds, removing wallpaper/borders, and adding a chair rail and a stair rail.

img_0646

I have also painted all of the things, lol. Every room in my house is painted a light and bright aqua and I have used white paint on all of the switch plates/outlet covers, the kitchen and bathroom cabinets, the stair rail, and the fireplace mantle. I even sprayed the old brass thresholds with some satin nickel paint to match the surrounding hardware.

I’ve had a couple bigger projects as well that I hired out – the installation of a privacy fence for the backyard and a new roof (like many home bloggers, I like DIY projects, but for the big stuff, I prefer to let the experts do it!)

img_8346

As far as decor goes, the only room in my house that I would consider “complete” is my daughter’s nursery. It was a blank slate when we started, so everything in her room was added over time and with a lot of thought put into creating a cohesive, happy and gender neutral space.

In the rest of my home, I have switched out things here and there, but it’s all still a work-in-progress. As I learn more about my home style, I find that I like color, but I want my space to feel open, airy and free of clutter (which for me can mean a bunch of stuff or just a lot of bold colors or patterns together). I am also learning that I like the warmth that texture and natural elements can add to a space.

img_8362

I definitely don’t have a design background (haha), though I have been an avid follower of several home blogs over the last decade. I graduated college in 2012 with a B.A. in Secondary Education Spanish and prior to becoming a stay-at-home-mom in 2016, I taught high school Spanish for 3 years. Staying home with children was always my dream, but I didn’t realize that teaching, though not a career I ever want to return to, gave me something that was uniquely mine. It gave me purpose and fulfillment as an individual – which is something that I miss a lot. My hope is that with this blog, I can take back my identity as an individual and make my home a beautiful and happy reflection of my personality along the way.

To learn more about my vision for Finding Me At Home, click here to read my first post!