Here goes nothing!

To listen to an audio version of this post, click here.

The title of my blog is “Finding Me At Home,” which – to be completely honest, is a tiny bit embarrassing for me because it’s so literal and I feel a little bit exposed. I tried to come up with a name that was more abstract, but nothing seemed to fit – I think it’s my granddaddy’s fault; he always said that a business’ name should tell you what they do. So, “Finding Me At Home” is my attempt to learn more about myself through the process of decorating and updating my home.

At this point in time, I am very adamant that this blog focuses on home decor and style. I know it’s very common to have lifestyle blogs that include everything about a persons’ life including their decorating style, fashion sense, their children’s events/milestones, food, travel, etc. and that’s awesome – those are some of my favorite blogs. BUT, for the moment,  I really just want a creative outlet that is purely mine and is about my love for creating my home. At this point in my life, I don’t get a lot of time to myself, but I would like to make the most of the time I do get by immersing myself in what I am passionate about.

In planning this blog, I really spent a lot of time thinking about my voice and how I would get my personality across. I know I am not necessarily filling any voids in the blog world, so the only unique thing about my blog, is me – and I wanted to make sure that I came across accurately and authentically. For some people that’s super easy, but I am typically reserved until I get to know someone really well. As I write my posts, I want to make sure that everything I say, is how I would naturally say it to my best friend – though maybe with a little less emphasis on my negative thoughts. I am an insanely picky person and it’s really easy (and honestly, pretty fun) for me to talk about the things I don’t like, but I want to be more mindful of that. I don’t want my blog to be a source of unnecessary negativity and I never want to diminish someone else’s efforts/products simply because they don’t match with what I’m looking for. If I see something that I wish was just a little bit different to work in my space, I’ll definitely share that, but if something is just terrible, than I don’t really need to talk about it.

With all that being said, here’s what my regular posts might look like:

  • Personal experiences relating to my design style
  • My decorating process and design plans
  • Pondering on style questions
  • Before and afters of my home projects
  • Product roundups
  • Mood boards
  • High/low product comparisons
  • Recreating spaces or feelings from inspiration

I do not have a clear idea of my style or vision for all of the spaces in my home, but hope to improve both through this process. More than anything, I am teaching myself, but if this helps anyone along the way, that’s awesome! I am learning about blogging and social media as I go, but hope to provide additional content through Pinterest & Instagram. Here goes nothing!

Leave a Reply

